First Post This Year

It’s the 11th of January 2017, I would still call this a new year at least until the end of January. It’s been a couple weeks now since my last post. It’s not that I haven’t had anything to post but just a combination of different reasons. This therefore is my first post for this year 2017.

I probably should start with how my 2016 was. In all honesty it was really a great year for me. A lot of things happened and a lot changed. I for one, don’t think am the same person I was in January 2016. I have grown in both knowledge and wisdom (at least I think so).

There are a lot of things that am proud of looking back at 2016. For starters, I started my own blog. I never thought I was ever gonna do that but well I did. Secondly I finally bought myself a guitar. It was my childhood dream to have and be able to play a guitar but for some reason I couldn’t have one until last year. Am still learning how to play but it sure has been an amazing experience so far. The same last year I was able to read a couple of books. I found it a really great experience, both educative and entertaining.  I think of all the books I read one stood out for me, a book titled ‘Daring Greatly’ by Brene Brown which I found really helpful and I encourage everyone to read it if possible. And for the first time in college I was given a responsibility which so far has proven to be one of the best things that could have happened to me in 2016. Plus I made a number of friends which is something am naturally not good at. Am an introvert.

2016 wasn’t colorful and rosy all year round. It had its own cloudy days and moments which for some reason I don’t feel like mentioning here except the election of Donald trump as the president of the USA. Honestly I wasn’t and am still not happy that guy won the elections but anyways it is what it is. I made a lot of mistakes and bad decisions in 2016. Regardless, am still happy for all the things that happened because I believe it’s the combination of the good and the bad that made it a great year and made me a better person than I was when we started the year.

2017 so far has proven to be a great year and it’s my prayer it continues this way. I don’t really have a lot of things or resolutions planned for this year except to reach the other end a better person that I am now. Be a happier and fearless person able to take on whatever life throws with a good attitude. Am not sure what’s gonna happen this year but whatever happens, am hopeful that it’s all gonna propel me into new heights and new great adventures.

Author: Lephil

am a 20 year old Malawian. still in college. i like reading and lately writting too. just wanna share my opinions and ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

