BEFORE I DIE

For the past few days or so, I have been watching videos on a YouTube channel called TED. I don’t really know what the translation of TED is but they say it’s a group of ideas (in video form) that are worthy spreading. And personally I think most of them are.

I started doing this as one way of improving my personal life because I personally think there are a lot of great things that can be learned from these talks.

So today I was watching one of their talks and it was one of those talks I think I have heard before but it kind of brought a new perspective in my life. The title of the talk is “before I die”.

Just at first glance I knew I had to watch it and am glad I did. The speaker was a young woman who had experienced loss of a family member a few years back and this loss brought a new perspective into her life.

In her speech she said the loss of her mother made her realize how precious life is and how she (and I everyone else) should value each and every second that they are alive.

Realizing that she (and everyone else) won’t live forever and that we all have a limited time to be alive and do whatever we dream of, she started a project where she would find an unused public space and try to invite people to show and write with chalk on a wall what they want to do before they die.

As I watched this inspiring video I realized that I too have a couple of things I want to do before I die. One of which is to be able to play a guitar. Yea a guitar. It’s been one of my childhood dreams up to today.

before-i-die-berry-hill-007

Think about all that you wish to do before you die and maybe write them down somewhere, share those dreams with someone you trust and find ways to be or do those things before you die. These are the things you probably have wanted to do since you were a little kid and you know they are things that will definitely put a smile on your face.

Life is generally hard but it’s also fun when you are being and doing what makes you happy.

Right now I want you to finish this statement and fill in the blanks:

Before I die I want to …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Author: Lephil

am a 20 year old Malawian. still in college. i like reading and lately writting too. just wanna share my opinions and ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

