AN OPPORTUNITY TO GROW

A few days ago I got erected as the general activities coordinator for college of Medicine Catholic Students organization for the 2016-2017 academic year.

I have to say it was surprising to me to be nominated for that position late alone erected. It’s something I didn’t expect at all since I don’t think I have been that active there.

If you were to ask anyone who knows me, you would probably hear that am the kind of guy who doesn’t really like to be in the spotlight. I don’t like being the center of attention. I like being in a group but just a few people knowing who I am. I like being the kid you see around but have no idea who he actually is.  In simple terms I don’t like attracting attention. That’s just me.

That being the case, now you probably know why I was surprised that people actually voted for me since I thought not many actually know me there. But well I was wrong.

Even though it was shocking, I just had to accept it. It is what it is, the people have entrusted me with this responsibility.

I planned on never getting any leadership position the whole of my life in college. The reason is simple, I don’t like attention.

Now that I have this responsibility, it’s a whole new change as far as my life is concerned. I know it might not seem that much of a deal to some people but for me, it is. I haven’t had any leadership position since 2012 when I was in secondary school.

To be honest am a bit scared and unsure of how I am going to do this. It’s a pretty challenging responsibility for me. It’s a position that requires someone different from who I naturally am.

This means I am going to have to step out of my comfort zones if am to do this very well. Am going to have to do things I naturally would avoid or hide from.

I could look at this whole thing as a bad thing, something to complain about and be afraid of or I could look at it as a chance for me to learn leadership and also personal skills. A chance to expand my comfort zone. A chance to be a better person. And I choose to go with the later. I chose to look at this responsibility as a chance to grow and be better.

The reality is it’s not going to be an easy ride. It’s going to be challenging all the way. Am sure am going to make a tone of mistakes along the way. Am going to fail sometimes and all I can do is learn from those mistakes and do better the next time.

I don’t think am ready for this responsibility, but I know I am going to do it to the best of my ability. I am going to give all I can and be the best I can be at this with the help of the other committee members, my friends and God.

Life is full of surprises and challenges, we can’t avoid them all and sometimes all we can do is accept them, and give it our best shot and learn from the mistakes we make.

Author: Lephil

am a 20 year old Malawian. still in college. i like reading and lately writting too. just wanna share my opinions and ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

